Silent University Hamburg

The Silent University was initiated by the Kurdish artist Ahmet Öğüt. It has already been successfully realized in London in cooperation with the Delfina Foundation and Tate Modern and in Stockholm in cooperation with the Tensta Konsthall and the ABF (Arbetanes Bildingsförbund). In 2012 Öğüt received the Visible Award of the Cittadellarte – Fondazione Pistoletto and the Fondazione Zegna for The Silent University.

Silent University Hamburg is an autonomous platform for the exchange of knowledge by and for people with refugee status who are seeking asylum and for other interested parties. It is addressed above all to those who have completed their academic and professional education in their native country but are unable to pursue their profession in Hamburg because of their residence status. Since September 2014, lecturers and consultants at Silent University Hamburg have worked out a structure that will make it possible to activate academic knowledge that is rarely employed in the context of fleeing, asylum, and immigration. At Silent University Hamburg, “silenced knowledge” is reactivated. Rooted in the history of alternative forms of education — such as the Modern School movement founded in the second decade of the twentieth century, Paulo Freire’s approach to freedom pedagogy in the 1970s, and Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak’s current approach to “aesthetic education” — Silent University Hamburg raises questions of the potential and tasks of art in a global age. How can a democratic public sphere be created in the context of flight, migration, and diaspora that will make difference visible without constructing otherness? The lecturers develop their seminar offerings based on the academic and professional background and current interests. To supplement these efforts and broaden the exchange, international guests are invited to public lectures and discussion panels. Interested parties can register as students at

Silent University Hamburg will construct a platform for knowledge exchange in Hamburg that will add an artistic proposal to society’s discussions of the so-called European refugee problem that will also exposed political indifference. Silent University Hamburg is integrated into an international network and was invited by Curating the City e.V. in cooperation with Stadtkuratorin Hamburg, W3 – Werkstatt für internationale Kultur und Politik e.V. and Zusammen Leben & Arbeiten e.V.

Silent University Hamburg

initiated by Ahmet Öğüt

Silent University Hamburg

The Silent University wurde 2012 von dem kurdischen Künstler Ahmet Öğüt initiiert. Sie wird erfolgreich in Kooperation mit der Delfina Foundation und Tate Modern in London durchgeführt und in Kooperation mit der Tensta Konsthall und ABF, Arbetanes Bildingsförbund in Stockholm. 2012 wurde Öğüt mit dem Visible Award der Cittadellarte – Fondazione Pistoletto und Fondazione Zegna für The Silent University ausgezeichnet.

Die Silent University Hamburg ist eine autonome Plattform zum Wissensaustausch von und für Menschen mit Flüchtlingsstatus und auf Asylsuche sowie für Interessierte. Angesprochen werden vor allem diejenigen, die eine akademische und berufliche Ausbildung in ihren Heimatländern abgeschlossen haben, in Hamburg jedoch aufgrund des Aufenthaltsstatusses nicht praktizieren können. Seit September 2014 erarbeiten die DozentInnen und BeraterInnen der Silent University Hamburg eine Struktur, um die Aktivierung von akademischem Wissen zu ermöglichen, welches im Kontext von Flucht, Asyl und Einwanderung selten zur Anwendung kommt. In der Silent University wird das zum Schweigen gebrachte Wissen“ reaktiviert. Eingebettet in die Geschichte alternativer Bildungsformen — wie dem Modern School Movement der 1910er Jahre, Paulo Freires Ansatz der Freiheitspädagogik der 1970er Jahre und Gayatri Chakravorty Spivaks aktueller Ansatz einer Ästhetischen Erziehung — stellt die Silent University Hamburg Fragen nach den Potenzialen und Aufgaben von Kunst im globalen Zeitalter. Wie kann eine demokratische Öffentlichkeit im Kontext von Flucht, Migration und Diaspora hergestellt werden, die Differenz sichtbar macht, ohne Anderssein zu konstruieren? Die DozentInnen entwickeln je nach akademischem oder beruflichen Hintergrund sowie aktuellen Interessen Seminarangebote. Ergänzend werden für einen erweiterten Austausch internationale Gäste zu öffentlichen Vorträgen und Gesprächen eingeladen. Interessierte können sich als Studierende auf thesilentuniversity.org einschreiben.

Mit Silent University Hamburg wird eine Wissensplattform in Hamburg aufgebaut, die den gesellschaftlichen Diskussionen um das sogenannte europäische Refugee-Problem einen künstlerischen Vorschlag hinzufügt, der zugleich ein politisches Desinteresse aufzeigt. Die Silent University Hamburg ist eingebunden in ein internationales Netzwerk und wurde von Curating the City e.V. eingeladen in Kooperation mit Stadtkuratorin Hamburg, W3 – Werkstatt für internationale Kultur und Politik e.V. und Zusammen Leben & Arbeiten e.V.

Silent University Hamburg


initiiert von Ahmet Öğüt


Programm
Biografie




Kontakt
Marenka Krasomil
Koordinatorin Silent University Hamburg
tsu@stadtkuratorin-hamburg.de
Tel: 017684498844



the-city-is-burning-logos